[French] [Spanish] [German] [Portuguese] [Italian]
    [Google]



CIVIL SOCIETY WORKING GROUPS


Update : an exhaustive list of Working Groups and Caucuses is now available at the WSIS-CS.ORG site. Please refer to this latter list. The list below is now outdated.

Concerning the Civil Society Bureau, check this updated contact list.




Archive : Civil Society are also called "Caucuses". For translation reasons, we are avoiding this name. The current document is estasblished with the help of this Civil Society official document . This list may also be found on the WSIS-CS site.



Civil Society Caucuses /Groups

who have expressed desire to develop Content

Listing (ver 1.5/ March 17 2003)


The following Civil Society caucuses and groups have been formed to work on content.

Each caucus or group is to confirm the designation of one or two delegates to the Civil Society Content and Themes Working Group.

The provisional contact persons identified are named below.


I. REGIONAL CAUCUSES


  • African Region: Emmanuel Njenga <njenga@apc.org>
  • Asian Region: ________________
  • Latin American Region: Paulo Lima <plima@rits.org.br>
  • European/North American Region: _________________
  • Arab Countries Region: (African sub-group) Mustapha Masmoudi <masmoudi@mdcplus.com>
  • Middle East & West Asian: Amir Barmaki <ahbarmaki@hotmail.com>


II. SECTOR-BASED GROUPS


  • NGO Gender strategies working group: <gswg-coord@genderit.org>
  • Youth: Nick Moriatis <nick@takingitglobal.org>
  • Persons with Disabilities: Hiroshi Kawamura <hkawa@attglobal.net>
  • Indigenous Peoples: Katelin Gillis <katelin@metisnation.ca>
  • Academia and Education: Divina Frau-Meigs < meigs@wanadoo.fr >
  • Science & Technology Community: Leszlek Bialy < l.bialy@unesco.org >
  • Media: Ronald Koven <rkoven@compuserve.com>/Jacques Briquemont <briquemont@ebu.ch>/ Tracey Naughton <broadcasting @ misa.org.na>
  • Trade Unions: _______________________
  • Creators and Active Promoters of Culture: Alex Byrne <alex.byrne@uts.edu.au> /Alexis Krikovian <krikovian@ipa-uie.org>
  • Think Tanks: John Gagain <j.gagain@funglode.org>


III. THEMATIC CAUCUSES


  • Environment and ICT: Thomas Rudd <ruddyconsult@imailbox.com>
  • Volunteering and New Technologies: Gail Hurley <gail.hurley@cev.be>/Viola Krebs <viola@icvolunteers.org>
  • Values and Ethics: Franco Mazza <mazzafranco@hotmail.com>
  • E Governance/ E Democracy: Rik Panganiban <rikomatic@yahoo.com> <josep.xercavins@ubuntu.upc.es>
  • Health: Ken Dobruskin <ken@prepcom.net>
  • Language & Culture: Adel El Zaim <elzaim@canti.com>
  • Information Security (+ CyberCrime): Karen Banks <karenb@gn.apc.org>; Veni Markovski <veni@veni.com>
  • Human Rights:Meryem Marzouki <marzouki@ras.eu.org> /Rikke Frank Jorgensen <rfj@humanrights.dk>
  • Communication Rights: Bruce Girard <bgirard@comunica.org>/Myriam Holmgren <mh@wacc.org.uk>

  • Internet Governance: YJ Park <yjpark@myepark.com>/ Wolfgang Kleinwachter <wolfgang @imv.au.de>
  • Intellectual Property Rights/Public Sphere: Francis Muguet < muguet@ensta.fr>

  • Applications - Global Concerns: Myrna Lachenal-Merrit < m.lachenal@geneva-link.ch >

  • Scientific Information: Francis Muguet < muguet@ensta.fr >

  • Girl Child: T.O. Happy Aziah <cadef@caramail.com>

COORDINATORS OF THE CONTENT AND THEMES WORKING GROUP

Sally Burch <sburch@alainet.org>

Bill McIver <mciver@albany.edu>

The Civil Society Content and Themes Documents from Prepcom II Are on the following Website:

German WSIS Civil Society Coordinating Group

Contact: Ral Bendrath/Olga Drossou/Arne Hintz

Wsis@boell.de

www.worldsummit2003.de


Contacts for Working Groups are also called coordinators or convenors.


WSIS Working Groups sites




WSIS-IPR.ORG    WSIS CIVIL SOCIETY WORKING GROUP

WSIS-SI.ORG     WSIS CIVIL SOCIETY WORKING GROUP